Twitter | Search | |
Richard Ings
Regards the code violation to Alize Cornet for changing her shirt on court, all US Open umpires at their mandatory pre-event briefing were told specifically to issue a code if a female player changed shirt on court The ump followed direct USTA instructions. Not the umps fault.
Reply Retweet Like More
Need that #Treaty Aug 30
Replying to @ringsau
Your take is, shit rule was applied correctly?
Reply Retweet Like
Arthur King Aug 30
Replying to @ringsau
That extract is a statement issued after the event, Richard. Do you have anything issued before the event?
Reply Retweet Like
DR ใƒžใ‚คใ‚ฏ๐Ÿšด ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿปโ€โ™‚๏ธ๐Ÿฅ‹๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ„๐Ÿผโ€โ™‚๏ธ Aug 30
Replying to @ringsau
Common sense does not apply to tennis umpires then ?
Reply Retweet Like
Richard Ings Aug 30
Replying to @dr_mellis57
I'd suggest that common sense does not apply to the USTA. Any umpire ignoring USTA instructions would never be invited back. They are the bosses.
Reply Retweet Like
Frank Ripa Aug 30
Replying to @ringsau
Come on Richard, you know there's nothing more dangerous in America, than the female nipple. It causes mass panic amongst the ignorant.
Reply Retweet Like
Tess Claydon Aug 30
Replying to @ringsau @Neil_Harman57
Technically she didnโ€™t change it she turned the one she had on round.
Reply Retweet Like
Daryl Adair Aug 31
Replying to @ringsau
I read that it was also a WTA rule. Do you have a source for the briefing (that is shareable)? An umpire can only implement the rules as provided.
Reply Retweet Like
Richard Witbreuk Aug 31
Replying to @DarylAdair @ringsau
the WTA dont have a rule in regards to changing on court. well not what i read on their site anyways. seems a bit weird that grand slam organisers are starting to come down hard on what women wear an do on court...
Reply Retweet Like
DR ใƒžใ‚คใ‚ฏ๐Ÿšด ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿปโ€โ™‚๏ธ๐Ÿฅ‹๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ„๐Ÿผโ€โ™‚๏ธ Aug 31
Replying to @ringsau
Bizarre ..
Reply Retweet Like
DR ใƒžใ‚คใ‚ฏ๐Ÿšด ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿปโ€โ™‚๏ธ๐Ÿฅ‹๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ„๐Ÿผโ€โ™‚๏ธ Aug 31
Replying to @ringsau
Federer launches at the umpire who spoke to Kyrgios, so, will he be invited back ? If heโ€™s playing .. oh hell yeah ... Tennis overall, needs a better plan than the current hypocrisy.
Reply Retweet Like
Joefrl Aug 31
Replying to @ringsau
Technically, she didnโ€™t โ€œchangeโ€ her shirt at all. She only flipped it end for end.
Reply Retweet Like
David McArdle Aug 31
So this would have happened to a male player too, Richard?
Reply Retweet Like
Richard Ings Aug 31
No. The USTA instruction was about female players.
Reply Retweet Like
Tammi Gaw Aug 31
Please imagine the look on my face indicating no shock whatsoever at learning they targeted the women with this ๐Ÿšฎ instruction.
Reply Retweet Like
David McArdle Aug 31
And there's your trouble...
Reply Retweet Like
David McArdle Aug 31
Indeed. Colour me gobsmacked.
Reply Retweet Like