Twitter | Search | |
Luis A.
Google decided to take a peek at the photos in my unused account, pick some geotagged ones from 2009, change their time stamp, and add them to Google Maps. If this isn’t invasion of privacy I don’t know what it is. The thanks for sharing message is the cherry on top.
Reply Retweet Like More
Fin Lan Sep 5
Replying to @lmjabreu
But at least it comes with unlimited storage. You get what you pay for.
Reply Retweet Like
Alexander Mikhailian Sep 5
Replying to @lmjabreu
Same for me, but they took my 2009 photos from an old OSM-based website with panorama in its name that I used back then.
Reply Retweet Like
+eddiej Sep 5
Replying to @lmjabreu
I've uploaded many gigabytes worth. Still waiting for a job offer. 😭
Reply Retweet Like
Stefan R. Sep 5
Replying to @lmjabreu
Was shocked this morning getting that mail. They added the photos I had uploaded to then already google owned
Reply Retweet Like
Dan Finkelstein Sep 5
Replying to @lmjabreu
idk what you did but i only see photos i've specifcially posted to google maps when i go to and click the "photos" tab....
Reply Retweet Like
Joshua Miller Sep 5
Replying to @lmjabreu
Are you able to turn this sharing feature off?
Reply Retweet Like
Roberto Jung Drebes Sep 5
Replying to @lmjabreu
Same happened to me, but all pictures I had previously uploaded publicly to Picasa web. Did you too?
Reply Retweet Like
Shawn McMahon🔶still works there Sep 5
Replying to @lmjabreu
This is a big deal, folks. People take pictures of very private things in order to preserve information or to share with a limited group. Imagine if you took a picture of your driver's license for proof of ID for an online dispute, and an algorithm decided it was a park.
Reply Retweet Like
Filipe Varela Sep 5
Replying to @lmjabreu @googlemaps
Wtf ?
Reply Retweet Like
ewong_emb Sep 5
I really dislike Apple iPhones, but all this crap by is making me reconsider.
Reply Retweet Like
sehe Sep 5
Replying to @syberghost @lmjabreu
it was *at* a park, more like
Reply Retweet Like
Ben Sep 5
Replying to @lmjabreu
Did you miss an Opt-out?
Reply Retweet Like
b00nish! Sep 5
Replying to @lmjabreu
Got the same notification. But in my case it was ONLY about images that I have made public via Panoramio (owned by Google, abandoned 2016) many years ago. In other words: I volountarily made this photos public and I think I even flagged them for Google maps back then...
Reply Retweet Like
Tilman Winkler Sep 5
Replying to @lmjabreu @KompaLaw
😱
Reply Retweet Like
b00nish! Sep 5
Replying to @syberghost @lmjabreu
The question is if the "story" is true. The comments seem to indicate that in fact those photos were made public by their uploaders years ago on Google owned platforms (like Panoramio). Maybe just forgot what he volountarily made public almost 10 years ago ;-)
Reply Retweet Like
markus heiler Sep 5
Replying to @lmjabreu
Well - it's "don't do evil" turned around at its finest ...
Reply Retweet Like
markus heiler Sep 5
Replying to @finlanha @lmjabreu
> You get what you pay for. But in this case Google stole from him - so it is not correct that he "gets" what he has paid for. He did not consent or agree to theft from Google, for example.
Reply Retweet Like
Georg Stadler Sep 5
Replying to @lmjabreu
Whoch Google service did you use? Could you please clarify?
Reply Retweet Like