Twitter | Search | |
The IFAB
We are The IFAB. We govern and develop the Laws of the Game of association football. Follow the news!
1,786
Tweets
307
Following
21,108
Followers
Tweets
The IFAB 20h
Questions & Answers: IS THE GOAL AWARDED ❓ A player has accidentally lost footwear and then scores a goal before the ball goes out of play. ➡️ Find out more: 📲 Explore the Laws with the new app:
Reply Retweet Like
The IFAB Jul 19
Replying to @FPLHogwash @FPL_Ref
Thank you for your interest! You can download the app here: Happy Laws of the Game learning! Best regards, The IFAB
Reply Retweet Like
The IFAB Jul 18
Replying to @NdjoyaT
No - a substitution can only take place when play has stopped for another reason. Find out more: Best regards, The IFAB
Reply Retweet Like
The IFAB Jul 18
Thank you for your question. It is a direct free kick. It depends on the impact of the handball what disciplinary action the referee takes. Best regards, The IFAB
Reply Retweet Like
The IFAB Jul 18
HOW FOOTBALL HAS CHANGED? ⚽️ In 1987 clarified that in each half of the match the referee makes allowance for all time lost through: ➡️ substitutions ➡️ transport of injured players from the field ➡️ time-wasting
Reply Retweet Like
The IFAB Jul 17
Replying to @allbroke
Thank you for your question, Bill! It can be very unfair if a team gains an advantage or scores a goal because the ball has hit a match official, especially the referee. All the best, The IFAB
Reply Retweet Like
The IFAB Jul 17
Questions & Answers: BALL IN OR OUT OF PLAY❓ A ball touches a match official (outside the penalty area), remains on the field of play and the team in possession of the ball changes. What is the referee’s decision? ➡️ ⚽️
Reply Retweet Like
The IFAB Jul 16
Dear Paul, we are ready to answer all your questions regarding the Laws of the Game. However, please take note that it is not the role of The IFAB to assess/judge referees' decisions in concrete matches. Best regards
Reply Retweet Like
The IFAB Jul 16
Dear all the original question did not say that the CK was signalled by the AR. Much depends on what the referee signalled but if the referee is satisfied that a CK was the correct decision then that is how play should restart (for fairness). Best regards
Reply Retweet Like
The IFAB Jul 16
Replying to @NCHammer1980
Thank you for your question, Neil! The Law was changed to be consistent with re-wording of handball in Law 12. Best regards, The IFAB
Reply Retweet Like
The IFAB Jul 16
Replying to @TheIFAB
EXPLANATION: If the goalkeeper throws the ball: ➡️ directly into the opponents’ goal – a goal kick is awarded ➡️ into the team’s own goal – a goal is awarded All changes explained:
Reply Retweet Like
The IFAB Jul 16
New: LAW CHANGES 2019/20 ⚽️ Goalkeepers cannot score by throwing the ball directly into the opponents’ goal – if they do, a goal kick is awarded to the opposing team. ➡️ Download the official app and keep up to date with changes
Reply Retweet Like
The IFAB Jul 16
Replying to @DevonDieckman
Hi Devon, thank you for your question about the . It should be a corner kick. All the best, The IFAB
Reply Retweet Like
The IFAB Jul 15
Questions & Answers: OFFSIDE❓ Can a player be penalised for an offside offence if he/she receives the ball directly from a throw-in? ➡️ ⚽️ Explore the with the NEW APP:
Reply Retweet Like
The IFAB Jul 12
⚽️ ARABIC version of the Laws of the Game 2019/20 is NOW AVAILABLE! ➡️Download the new edition: Owing to translation work done by FIFA/AFC Referee Instructors!
Reply Retweet Like
The IFAB Jul 11
HOW FOOTBALL HAS CHANGED? ⚽️ 1972: substitute only enters at the halfway line, after the player being replaced has left the field 2019: player being substituted must leave by the nearest point on the boundary line unless the referee indicates otherwise
Reply Retweet Like
The IFAB Jul 11
Replying to @FarnhamRef
Thank you for your question. Yes - in principle the substitute should be cautioned. Best regards, The IFAB
Reply Retweet Like
The IFAB Jul 10
Questions & Answers: WHAT IS THE CORRECT PROCEDURE❓ ⚽️ A substitute was on the field of play when the goal was scored by his/her team. After that, before play restarts, the referee realises that an extra person was on the field. ➡️ Find out more:
Reply Retweet Like
The IFAB Jul 9
Replying to @AkcerSerdar
Thank you for your interest, too. Happy Laws of the Game learning! All the best, The IFAB
Reply Retweet Like
The IFAB Jul 9
Replying to @hill_aspen
Thank you for your question. In these circumstances the player would be regarded as offside; offences outside the field of play can be punished in the same way as they if they were committed inside the field of play. All the best, The IFAB
Reply Retweet Like